The Spring is still shy

Today a different post…

panoramica

This afternoon, after getting my little sister to school, I’ve lost myself in one of the top far-off places near my home, El Collet de les Barraques. It’s a mountain pass surrounded by high mountains and breathtaking alpine grasslands.

P1020188

It takes me only 15km from my home through the narrow road you can see above that ascends until 1900m (6400ft). There you are surrounded by a dense Black Pine (Pinus uncinata) woodland characteristic of the subalpine level of vegetation, in fact it equals to the Taiga vegetation of Scandinavia, Russia, N of USA and rough regions of Canada.

Although leaving only one month to summer, last weekend and Monday kept snowing: at hills and high valleys accumulate over 1.5 m of snow. I’ve taken a walk without skis nor boots nor snowshoeing, just walking, only wetting my slippers and trousers…

When you reach 2000m the woodlands give way to alpine grasslands, covered by snow and ice from october-november to may-june.

I love this shy spring with huge contrasts between 2 worlds: the valleys and forests green and plenty of life, whilst hills and mountains still keep lethargic. Also I like the contrast between the warm of the sunshine, which heats a lot, and the chilly of ice and snow: you can take a walk in a t-shirt without freezing yourself.

Sometimes I’ve felt envy of your posts on your blogs about your trips throughout the planet, but I realise that often is not necessary to go so faraway to get what are you looking for, in my case a far-off place to get a wee bit of peace…

4 thoughts on “The Spring is still shy

  1. Nice shots! Catalan Pyriness are amazing!
    Aquest any està fent una primavera que tela… A mi ja m’agrada..l’únic problema és que amb tants canvis de temperatura vaig de constipat en constipat (i abrigant i desabrigant constantment) 🙂

  2. the last picture is definitely my favorite! 🙂 What a beautiful place! There is something magical about snowy mountains … Anyway, great shots!

Leave a Reply

